Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Newmarket

A brilliant morning at work...I walked there and back; someone had donated a Galileo thermometer so I was able to replace my recently smashed one; found a couple of lovely tops in my current to next size; fitted in a smaller coat (it's purple with lots of zipped pockets so yes it came home too!); got spare wellies (Dunlop - very nice); got my weight loss remarked on several times; didn't succumb to the biscuit jar that sits on the desk next to me all morning! :) 

I really should have then spent the afternoon either packing some more of the kitchen away or doing some of the gardening but it was too nice and was quite keen to replicate last week's awesome steps total so Stella and I went to Newmarket geocaching instead! 

All was going to plan until one troublesome cache that meant me loitering rather a long while in order to succeed where men had failed. As you'll see from the extra, rather a lot of snails had made their way into the hidey hole, the geocache has magnetic properties but no-one could get a connection through the snails. My silly little hands and flimsy wrists actually came in useful as I could remove a lot of the snails and reach the cache without the need of a magnetic stick. I can only presume that the other bits of stick are from previous geocachers' attempts at retrieval! 

I was there so long a kind gentleman with a stunning black Labrador called Molly stopped to make sure I was OK and then ask what in Heaven's name I was doing! I told him about the snails and we agreed I should replace most of them before the cache in order to be kind for the next finder :) 

Then along came a bundle of brown fur called Boris and as all 3 dogs were actually getting on I stayed to chat awhile...treats were exchanged and Stella was amazing and didn't mind sharing hers for once!

This meant by the time we got to the 4th cache the moon had replaced the sun so we had to head home.

This, in turn, meant 12,000 instead of the 14,000 I'd have liked. 

Still a total to be proud of I think :) 

It's been a few years since I've been up this; shame the view was so misty but it's still brilliant I think :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.