Snow blind

I cleaned out the freezer this afternoon. It was hell. I didn't have the appropriate protective clothing; thick gauntlets, a parka and tennis-racquets on my feet, nor did I have a husky sniffing me nethers. I should also have had a couple of riflemen with me to keep away the polar bears but I was brave. There was a fair bit of ice built-up that had to be hacked away. On day three I got to the label, buried beneath enough ice for fishermen to drive out in their big Nissans and drill a hole  to fish through, which said "Don't use sharp or pointy stuff for the scraping of the ice". It is ironic that many folk might have chopped the lining of the freezer to ribbons before seeing this label - I've spent long enough in freezers to know about linings and stuff so I was using a wooden spatula and a fair amount of vehement obscenity. In doing this I found stuff I didn't know I had including lots of smoked salmon - which is always good. Is there a technical name for that little twist of plastic bag which holds half a serving of frozen peas and sits at the back of the freezer? Is there any accurate way of predicting how many of these one might find in a freezer at any given time? Having sorted my frozen provisions I can now accurately calculate that I can survive a serious snow event of some weeks without having to consider rationing. There is even a bottle of Obstler although that wasn't a surprise - it is part of the emergency pack and is to be taken if all hope is lost and all beer and wine has been consumed.

More lambs in the extras for those who enjoy such stuff. I had a chat with the shepherd. About 50 ewes have lambed so there are about 250 more to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.