New Zealand Falcon

On my walk at the estuary this morning I had the rare privilege of seeing a New Zealand Falcon. I had no idea of what I had captured until I brought it up on the computer.

I had noticed an unusual bird shape silhouetted against the sky in a shady area  of a tree. It was too big to be a tui and not big enough to be a shag and I was unable to pick out any detail.  I took several photographs and then startled by a runner, the bird took off.

I had thought the bird was sitting back turned to me until I got the shadows lifted in Lightroom and couldn't believe my eyes. It had been watching me in every one of the photos with those enormous predators eyes.

The NZ Falcon (Karearea) is endemic, threatened and protected. It is a fearless hunter and will take prey larger than itself, attacking at high speed for a mid air snatch with its talons.  In the breeding season they will even attack humans if the nesting area is approached, often giving head wounds. 

The NZ Falcons status is 'uncommon'   which is why I was thrilled to see it beside the estuary path. It is the first time I have seen one in the wild.

The extra is not a great pic but shows the bird just taking off from the branch.     There was no time to change camera settings.                

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.