A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Sony Walkman WM-FX19

My old Sony Walkman purchased in 1992. 

As earlier blips have discussed how found objects can unearth old memories of times gone by. Finding this unearthed quite a few!

Its my old much loved Sony Walkman, I remember the day I got in late December 1992 from somewhere on St Georges Retail Park Leicester. The first thing I recall doing with it was tuning it to Virgin 1215's test transmissions, my two best friends not believing me that the station had started yet. It started for real in April 1993.

I recall very clearly listening to my beloved era of BBC Radio 1, ONE FM, in summer 1993; cycling around my local area in the sunshine hearing the likes of Simon Mayo, Lisa I'Anson, Steve Wright in the afternoon, The Evening Session and of course Bruno Brookes counting down the Top 40. Also Tommy Vance who was Virgin 1215am's launch drive time presenter. 

Its helped me recall the day I went to Manchester's Granada Studio's on a school trip listening to Radio ONE FM of course... I broke the belt clip on the coaches handle and was rather worried my Dad might find out. He's likely only just realised reading this now!

It was usurped by one of those slick, ultra thin Panasonic 'Walkmans' in 1996. Though, because I suspect lack of radio within, my memories of that are not as clear or as fondly thought of.

More objects to come, Ive had a bit of a clear out!

And now Ive found this one, not sure I can get rid of it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.