A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Old Sports Radio

So very very early nineties this one. Yellow, at the time, seemed to denote the device - usually concerned with the provision of personal audio - was to be used within a sports context! 

This radio, another found object ladened with memories, dates from 1994. It may have even been purchased in Hong Kong, but I'm not quite sure. What I do recall is having a radio of similar design that predated this one, although long gone, I liked it much better. 

The earlier derivative was from Christmas 1993 and I recall being driven along the A47 in the family Vauxhall Carlton listening to the point where a live and local Christmas Day Leicester Sound faded to static on its old much weaker frequency of 103.2.. That would gauge how good the radio was going to be. I think it was around Earl Shilton. 

Its a little muddled, having two of the same device but it can come in quite handy as I found out in early 1997. When Leicester Sound switched  from 103.2 to a much more powerful county-wide frequency of 105.4. There was period when both frequencies were on air and having two radio's allowed simultaneous listening. Although 105.4 proved better almost everywhere else, due to the transmission parameters it actually faired worse in my immediate locality of the time. These clearly were the best things I could know about then and I recall discovering this pointless information with much fondness. Probably should've been studying for my GCSE's but I found this far more interesting..

There are many more superb little oddities to blip from my bag of found 1990's goodies... However I may take a break tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.