Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

A chance meeting

A very enjoyable day but frustrating as, after an interesting chat with my blip I was sure I would be able to turn up some information on him but, so far, no luck.
I had intended to go to a David Hockney exhibition in the mill in World Heritage village Saltaire, where I spent my childhood, but arrived to find the exhibition was not open on Mondays (or Tuesday/Wednesdays).
I had a coffee and resisted the temptation to buy a Hockney print; I did buy a small table easel - maybe I'll display favourite blips in it on a rotating basis.
As it is a beautiful day I took a leisurely walk around some of my childhood haunts - there are enough blips there to keep me going for a year and I shot one of them for today - then walked along the canal to Shipley. Taking a couple of reference shots for future 'derelict' blips, at a place where you would not expect to meet many people, my blip came along and we began to talk about one of the 'derelicts' I was shooting.
He told me that he was involved with a project to restore it and open it as a community centre and studios for local artists. He said he taught art in Leeds, knew David Hockney well, and I thought he said his name was Thomis. On this basis I was sure I would find more about him. But so far no luck.
I'll be going back later in the week to shoot my original blip again, perhaps on Thursday so I can visit the exhibition. If I'm very lucky, I'll meet my today's blip again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.