Welcome Home Peg

Peg has returned after a couple of months' absence. The smaller two-legged seagulls have been hogging the dog food. But the last couple of days she's been back. Today I saw her chasing away several of the two-leggers. I'm not really thrilled with seagulls since they dominate the smaller birds. But Peg is the exception. Her one-legged status gains her welcome access to the food on our deck. I am not sure she fully knows this as she leaves quickly if she sees me, but never mind. It is always good to see her thrive in spite of having to handle balance on one leg while she eats. She does a very good job of that.

Today I am on my own from 9 to 4. It has been a long time and I am enjoying taking time to do things I normally don't have time to do. 

A note: previously I thought this gull was not a Glaucus Wing Gull, one of the common varieties around here. I did not see the red spot on her bill. But now I realize that is just what "she" is and because of "her" size, I think "she" is probably a male. So Peg is a guy and not a girl. He is still welcome whenever he needs a pick me up.

After I posted my blip I took a long walk in Whatcom Falls Park. Here are photos of the Common Merganser, (Not to me. This is the first I've ever seen.) a Goldeneye, and another Glaucus Wing Seagull. Decided not to change the photo but just to add these. The Merganser was a real treat to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.