a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Look up

MonoMonday: Gothic Heaven

This is St Mary Redcliffe in Bristol.  Despite the scale and embellishment, this is a "mere" parish church, although it is perhaps the most famous parish church in England.  Certainly, that is how Elizabeth I described it.

I've been meaning to have a go at taking some pictures of this fabulous building at some stage.  It has very much been on my blip horizon for a while, as I think I mentioned to Himself at the weekend.

Given the challenge set byTrisharooni to look up for today's MonoMonday challenge, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to have a go. I've tried to capture the serenity and majesty of the building, which is very much a feature of the way the light works in this Gothic space.  I don't know that I've completely succeeded, but I hope you like my first effort.

I've realised that in trying to get rid of the noise, my EXIF data has gone.  For those that look at that sort of thing this was taken with the Nikon D750 1/50s f/14 17mm at ISO4000.  I've combined a burst of a few shots together to reduce the noise.

I took so many pictures that I'm a bit spoiled for choice, and I've given you a couple of extras, in colour, to spoil you in turn :-)  


The second of my two extras is my failed attempt to get the exposure of the central nave ceiling correct.  Despite a number of efforts I consistently overexposed the column on the top left, which is very frustrating.  Still, I now have a little lunchtime exercise to have a go at, now and again, to see if I can actually get this right at some stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.