The Oracle Shopping Centre, Reading

I had various errands in and around Reading today. I avoid going into the town centre as much as I can due to the traffic congestion and when I do, I normally go by train. But today it tied in with other errands so I ended up driving and parking at the Oracle Car Park.

The Oracle is actually quite a pleasant shopping centre, straddling the River Kennet. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops to enjoy, and at some of them  you can even sit outside on a sunny day.  The Vue cinema is right there too. Boats can be seen navigating the river.  I'm not much of a shopper anymore but maybe I should visit a bit more frequently - I only had time for an hour today so no lounging over lunch or a cup of coffee for me!   These flower boxes on the pedestrian bridge over the canal made it even more attractive.

Two items of trivia:
1. The Oracle Shopping Centre takes its name from the 17th century workhouse which occupied a small part of the site of the shopping centre.  The Oracle workhouse was built by funds from a prosperous local cloth merchant, John Kendrick, a patron of Reading.  A local girls grammar school is also named after him.


2. The Oracle Shopping Centre won the 'Loo of The Year' award in 2001 and 2002

In other news:
I finally ordered my sofas today!  I'm very excited but will have to be extremely patient as I'm told they will take up to 14 weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.