Old John from Beacon Hill

My new Fujifilm 100-400mm lens arrived this morning, with many thanks to #CambrianPhotography. So I took it on an outing.

After a sunny start, low cloud swept in from the North Sea. Rain was even precipitating from the mist as I drove over the forest to Judy's for singing lesson. It was a much better session this week as I've finally got over that cold. I finished by singing Senza Mamma, my favourite aria from Puccini, although I'd had a stab at Bizet's Habanera and Seguidilla from Carmen as well.

Then to Sue's to bend her ear for a bit. Basil and Kal didn't feel inclined to play at first until Basil finally urged Kal out of his chair.

Driving back over the forest, the mist had cleared somewhat, and I stopped on the road to Beacon Hill to try out the lens. This is the result. A view of Old John, the folly in Bradgate Park, overlooking the trees, a distance of around four km as the crow flies. I'm quite pleased with it. Definition is more than acceptable, but I don't think I'd like to try taking photos at more than ISO 1000, and I suspect noise will be worse if I put the converter on the lens.

We finished up at Nanpantan Reservoir with an attempt at a brisk walk - two circuits of the water. Kicked myself because I only realised at the last minute that the grebes were doing their courting display. I turned on the camera and focused just too late to get that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.