CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ashley breaking down the soil

I chaired the last Finance committee meeting last night before the elections in May.  I felt quite relieved to not have to do that at the moment. I haven't quite got back into the flow of things since returning from Sri Lanka and I have to decide whether to stand for election again. I will be mulling it over.

Meanwhile I was pleased to be able to do simple things such as driving up towards Bisley to stock up with vegetables from the Stancombe Beech farm shop.  I drove straight past the shop as I wanted to go to check my tyre pressures at the nearby Green Garage.  After passing the farm shop entrance I spotted this tractor in their field and decided to stop on my return and take a photo of this classic wintry view of life on a farm.

I only had my small camera with me which makes taking pictures very easy.  I parked and crossed the road as Ashley approached where I was standing.  Just after I took the picture he waved and I smiled.  I then drove on the one hundred yards to the shop and had a long chat with his sister, Sally and brother Keith.  I've blipped all of them at different times and will again.  I love being at their farm as they let me take pictures wherever and whenever I like.  I think I am now ready to do a small project of a year in the life on the farm which I will give to them.  That is the sort of thing that I would have time for if I stopped all my council work.  Can I manage both?

Please have a look at this link whatever you do next!!!  
It is a report about my friend David Thurston's photograph and the effect it had on a very sick man.  A wonderful story  of healing and about the power of a photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.