Two "new" family pieces

Dear Diary,

I've had two cross-stitch samplers folded in my drawer for 25 years or more.  I finally had them framed.  This one is done by my grandmother with a bit of her pithy wisdom.  The small school house one is one I picked up on my antiquing day with Rhonda last Saturday.  The extra photograph today is the sampler my mother did years ago in her favorite colors.

Along with china, samplers have to be one of my favorite things to collect but lacking sufficient wall space I have to curb the passion.  Having these two "new" family pieces is very special though.  I will put a little card on the back so people will know who did it and when.  Seeing them finally framed and hanging in my entry is wonderful.

Both my grandmother and mother were masters of the needle arts.  Quilting, embroidery, knitting and crocheting all were practice with a patient hand.  I cannot visualize either of them sitting without some form of handiwork being carefully worked by their skilled fingers.  I inherited that gene I think.  I always have to be making something although I don't do this sort of work.  Still, creating with my hands is a very important thing for me.  I suspect that's why I was so drawn to my career of teaching art and I feel that I was very fortunate to grow up with my grandmother living with us...

A house needs a grandma in it. ~Louisa May Alcott

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.