Communion

"The world is not a collection of objects but a communion of subjects." - Thomas Berry

Dear Diary,

One of my favorite contemplative photographers, Kim Manley Ort, wrote yesterday on her blog about a relational way of seeing.  This, for me, is the very basis of contemplative photography.  Kim and I co-taught a weekend workshop on the subject a couple of years ago on Star Island off the coast of Portsmouth, New Hampshire.  It was a wonderful experience.

When I began to perceive the world as relationship my whole view of the world changed and when my view of the world changed what I saw changed too.  That has been the great joy of my life, to see the interconnection of things.  Our snow storm has changed my relationship with my yard and framed what I see in a whole new light, literally.  It is a transient relationship though.  For now I will savor this communion of snow and tree, light and shadow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.