Ice Art

Dear Diary,

I spotted this tiny ice sculpture from clear across my sitting room.  It reminded me of a small animal with a long tail hanging on a vine.  Honestly, I found it enchanting.  I guess you have to fully embrace the ice and snow when it so thoroughly engulfs you and you kind find all sorts of beauty in its details.  It has been very cold too but the wind has died down.  They promise sunny days for the next week and my fly out day, a week from today, looks clear thankfully.

It is St Patrick's Day which is no big deal around here but in big cities, especially Boston, it is a huge affair.  Boston schools also have the day off not because of St Patrick but because it is Evacuation Day, the day the British were chased out of Boston during the Revolutionary War.

So whether you celebrate St Patrick's Day or not, here is something from my favorite contemporary Irish poet and writer, John O'Donohue:

Beauty does not linger; it only visits. Yet beauty's visitation affects us and invites us into its rhythm; it calls us to feel, think and act beautifully in the world: to create and live a life that awakens the Beautiful. A life without delight is only half a life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.