King of the Hill

Dear Diary,

This little Junco was king of the hill for sure. He seemed to be very proud of his place and sat there for quite some time while other Juncos flew around. I thought I would render it in monochrome.

It reminded me of the game kids would play in the winter when I was young. Large piles of snow were constructed and the object was to “dethrone” the king. I didn’t participate in the raucous game. I usually just watched my brother and his friends rough housing. I did love to build cozy snow huts with evergreen branches for a roof though. We each entertained ourselves in our own way.

Speaking of piles of snow, Chris had his friend with the front end loader come yesterday to move the huge pile at the corner of the drive way. (Extra). I couldn’t see down the road so backing out was a bit tricky. It has been too cold for much melting to take place so this will be hanging around for a while yet...sigh. The boys would have loved this pile to play on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.