Share One Food

Today's poem is "Rublev" by Rowan Williams, about the Russian icon that shows the Trinity as three angels sitting round a table, and brings strong memories of when I last read it two years ago in Slad - such an amazing experience.

...
These (god) are the chromatic pains of flesh,
I said, I trust I make you blush,
Oh I shall stain you with the scars of birth

For ever. I shall root you in the wood,
under the sun shall bake you bread
of beechmast, never let you forth

to the white desert, to the starving sand.
But we shall sit and speak around
one table, share one food, one earth.

Today, M and Bia and I shared what would have been a typical poor family's meal in the Alentejo: bean and cabbage soup, fried sardines, and cornbread. Though, as Bia reminded us, it would have been one sardine shared between the whole family - her Mum always got the head.

And no Super Bock, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.