Kamran

By kamran

Melanie Kollatzsch

After a delicious dinner and great discussion with Jens, we departed at the tram stop. While waiting for the tram I saw a group of about 7, or 8 old people having fun together. Now I wanted to portray some of them, but how to interrupt them? Just few minutes before we had got a rejection when I and Jens wanted to talk to a poor guy collecting empty beer bottles from the garbage container.
Anyhow, time was running out and I knew the tram would come in few minutes, I gathered all my will-power and went to the group of laughing old-people. I connected every word that I had in my vocabulary to form the sentences leaving behind all grammar rules and continued my conversation like this (english translation):

"Excuse me. I am Kamran, studying in the university. I am a hobby photographer and as a part of my studies (a lie) I make portraits. I have one request, 'can I take some pictures of you people?'"

They saw at each other and gave a big laugh together, making me extremely embarrased and shy. But in the second moment they said "Why NOT?"
I quickly mounted wide angle lens and flash and took some group pictures, then switched to the other lens and started taking individual portraits. The first person that I portrayed was this extremely soft spoken lady. She knew little bit english as well. But my happy moments ended when the tram arrived and everybody had to leave. I had taken portraits of only her.
Just before entering the tram, she managed to throw her visiting card to me where I could read her name and other contact info.

Long live lady and enjoy health.

P.S. Thank you Jens for your kind dinner. You are such a great friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.