TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Pavlova for St Pat

Pavlova is an important part of Australia's national cuisine.  The Kiwis lay claim to it also, but our story is that it was created by a chef in Adelaide while the Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova was touring Australia and New Zealand in 1920s. Later, the US tried to claim it, but this will get them nowhere! 
Pavlova is a celebratory dish served on high days and holidays.  I made this rather large one for a celebratory dinner in recognition of St Patrick's day (hence a little green kiwi fruit in the mix). It is based on a crisp meringue which has a soft marshmellow like centre.  It is layered with whipped cream and mixed fruit of any description - in this case mixed berries with a little peach liqueur.  I don't do Facebook showing off my food, but this was a great opportunity to share a little bit of Ozzie culture with you. My extra is the full sized pav.
Now that I look at in Large I need to reassure you that they are chocolate sprinkles scattered over the finished dessert!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.