Mimosa

My grandad used to buy mimosa for my granny back in the 1960s.  They don't seem to sell it anywhere in the UK now but here it grows in abundance. In my memories, it is much more yellow than the blooms i have seen today.  I like this delicate light lemon colour and it definitely speaks of spring having sprung.

In today's extra, you can look straight down the very high cliffs west of Funchal at Cabo Girao from the glass viewing platform 590 meter above the sea.  Great view from there all the way down to the sea and along the coast towards Funchal.

It's pleasantly warm this afternoon sitting on the balcony in a short sleeve tee shirt for the first time this year.  We've done my obligatory supermarket visit and found some really interesting things - mountains of dried fish for one, and note books full of squared paper!  It's like heaven (apart from the dried fish...).  The little hire car just about manages the hills!

The mimosa is for Flower Friday and to remind me of my Grandparents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.