Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Mistle Thrush

Back in the UK means the opportunity to start work early and finish early so I can get out somewhere for a walk with my camera.
It's been quite a dull day today with not much sun to speak of.
I headed over to Pickerings Pasture despite my parents telling me it was disappointing last week. I'd not been for a while and it's probably the closest place I can to try and see birds, which I love.
The hide (or more accurately, the screens!) was quite disappointing - just the normal woodland birds, the rear end of a bunny rabbit and a fleeting glance of a wren that was far too quick for me!
Maybe I should have listened to my parents after all.
On my way back to the car, I saw quite a few blackbirds and a couple of song thrushes digging for worms on the grass. Then I saw a much bigger bird, much bolder and not too afraid that was also searching for food. I wasn't sure what it was, but when I got home, I looked it up and think it is a Mistle Thrush, which is on the red status list meaning that there has been a significant decline in breeding pairs over the past 25 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.