Symbols of the past

Symbols have long been associated with famous figures and institutions throughout history representing identities, beliefs, sentimentality and superstition.

In the present day we continue our love of symbols for sports teams, charities, Saint days just as today shamrocks are all over social media for St Patrick's Day and pinned on my coat is a daffodil for Marie Curie Cancer Care. These symbols represent a sense of belonging, status and celebration and if you look closely they're everywhere.

This evening historical author Amy Licence gave a talk at Waterstones in Canterbury to discuss the themes of her two new books 'Red Roses: Blanche of Gaunt to Margaret Beaufort' and 'Edward IV & Elizabeth Woodville'.

Amy spoke about the red rose as a symbol of the War of the Roses which is linked to the male dominated King making on the battlefields and political feuds in Royal Court. In her latest book Red Roses Amy uncovers the biographies of Lancastrian women looking at the narrative that shaped history.

The symbol Amy chose to represent these women is the White Swan opposing the male Red Rose. Its grace and beauty symbolises the roles these women played which in the end, she said, was largely about personality and circumstance.

It got me thinking how much of my life has been dictated by my personality and circumstance and if I had to chose a symbol to represent myself what would it be?

Quite possibly it could be a purple hat. I'm a great lover of hats and am rarely seen out without one. The colour purple is the colour of royalty and whilst I don't profess to be a Queen I do believe in what royalty stands for with tradition, strength and leading by example.

My love of historical books and passion for medieval history was reignited when I worked at Leeds Castle a year ago. I'm delighted to be back on the marketing team from next week - albeit temporarily for a month long retail promo - but I am sure my historical interest will last a lifetime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.