FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Surreal or Real?...

It's 7:41 on a grey, drizzly Tuesday morning and the lady behind the counter at my local train station has become a familiar face in my regular trips up to London, since I started full time freelance PR again over the past month.

She reminds me of a character that could so easily have sprung out of an Enid Blyton novel...an eccentric lady at the village train station who likes to wear quirky spectacles on the end of her nose with a beetroot and cheese sandwich hidden under the counter and a cat on her lap! Maybe I'll add her as a character in my novel when I finally get back to writing it.

The 07:51 train to Cannon Street was packed this morning and I felt like a sardine squished in a tin as I was hastily cutting and pasting my previous Blip entries onto my iPhone (more on this later).

My soya latte at Cannon Street train station was delivered by a chirpy singing lady who told me she's trying to stay positive after a sleepless night - it's all to do with the position of the moon apparently. I complimented her singing voice and she punched three loyalty stamps on my card instead of one!

As I negotiated the stairs down to the underground, a man with bright blue hair and a black hat almost pushed me over as I struggled to carry my heavy laptop in a ruck sack. The sooner I switch to a lightweight MacBook the better!

Four back to back meetings later and I'm on the train home reflecting on some of the quite frankly surreal experiences of today that included walking into an office with a floor covered in balloons, discussing the difference between Royal and fondant icing and debating the perfect desert island luxury!?! So surreal I'm not going to attempt to explain.

As I waited for a connecting train at Sevenoaks train station I found an abandoned copy of The Times on the seat next to me. This photograph from the London Super Comic Convention at Excel Centre caught my eye and seemed to fit with the strangely curious characters I met on my travels today.

I'm not sure if I have a vivid imagination or whether this was just a random day!

NOTE FOR NON-BLIPPERS: Mixed emotions among the Blip community today as an announcement from the Blipfoto founder confirmed rumours that the company has gone into liquidation. It's caused a mild panic among Blippers as we hastily copy all content in case the site goes down although we've been told a buy out company is in final negotiations. Keeping everything crossed the site will be saved...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.