FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Hard work pays off...eventually!

I spent the morning talking aviation, website design and luxury travel, lunchtime talking creative inspiration, the afternoon talking trends and the evening talking vintage.

One of the pluses of being a freelancer is the different sectors I get to work on and the rich variety of projects that presents in my work life. One of the minuses is the constant worry of how long each contract will last, where the next one is coming from and am I doing a good enough job?

Long hours, not enough sleep, an unrelenting fast-pace, demanding and challenging work means there is never a dull moment in my new world full time freelancing again. A desire to always do better and make a difference, as well as the obvious need to earn a living and pay the bills keeps me going. The chance of earning enough money to get me flying again remains my number one driving force behind it all!

After two days in London, I'm relieved a postponed meeting tomorrow gives me an unexpected day at home to crack on with writing PR plans, contact reports, website copywriting, press release editing and preparing for interviews for feature articles.

I had a lovely couple of hours catching up with a freelance journalist pal this evening as we had a mutual moan on some of the frustrations of operating as a freelancer from filing tax returns to chasing invoice payments to finding new clients.

It was a good opportunity to catch up on each others' recent activities and say how proud we are of all the other one had achieved. Isn't it funny how we see how hard a friend has worked and can see the achievement but when it comes to ourselves we are often too self-critical and nothing is good enough?

"Hard work pays off...eventually doesn't it?" my friend asked me this evening.

"Yes it does!" I replied. "It just takes a little longer than we'd hoped!"

Ever the 'glass half full' positive PR gal, I have to believe that philosophy and hope some of you reading this will think of something great you've achieved today, this week or this year to feel proud of yourself.

My photo today is Mickey Mouse showing solidarity for the Blip community as the Blipfoto business future is pending a new owner. Keep Blipping guys, after all hard work pays off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.