Balls of Wool

I took myself off to an 8 am Pilates class this morning…a double challenge for me. I'm pleased to say that I held my own, but if I had had to do one more 'dynamic plank' the story might have been quite different.

Over an Aztek Mocha, I tried to write something about this bizarre election season we are having. A sense of humor and an ability to understand the mindset of working class Americans who have brought Donald Trump within spitting distance of Republican nomination seemed called for. This was a tough assignment since I find the man morally repulsive. No matter which way I look at it, the only thing about him that could possibly be attracting working class Americans is his message of fear, hate and violence, which is frightening. We seem to be witnessing first hand, the fall of civilized society.

David Brooks, a moderate Republican commentator said, "Donald Trump has a monopoly on audacity." An understatement, to be sure, but since nobody whose minds are likely to be changed is listening, perhaps restraint isn't such a bad idea.

 I will keep thinking about this, since I think we really are witnessing an unprecedented political drama and a dramatic change in the political climate.

Feeling a need to cleanse my brain , I went to Cast Away, (see extra) my favorite yarn/fabric/craft store across the street. The big balls of wool on a shelf caught my eye and I liked the way they contrasted with the brick wall. Some kind of metaphor there, I'm sure….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.