Nearing its Best

This wonderful old hydrangea seems to flower and flower each year without any looking after at all. And it grows so tall. I must get some cuttings of it and grow it in Akaroa. I think I got it from my fathers garden many years ago and has shifted house with me each time as a cutting.

All afternoon I was potting up my daffodils in the heat.. 30c that I dug up a while back along some other plants that we're dying back. A good job done. Still have lots more plants to pot up in the next few months.


About the first Hydrangeas
The oldest fossil finds were found in North America, namely in Alaska, Oregon and California, they were dated at 40 to 65 million years ago. More recent discoveries in China, Japan, Taiwan and the Philippines prove that the Hydrangea have been on this planet long before the arrival of men.

In China and Japan they already cultivated Hydrangea's many thousands of years ago, in North America the medicine men used the roots of H.arborescens as a means to drive out kidney stones and to combat bronchitis.
For More information on the Hydrangea

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.