WHAT A DAY!

Today was the full dress rehearsal of the Wroughton Passion Play, and there was a real buzz in the air.  It was freezing cold so not the best sort of weather to be out and about in thin cotton costumes - but we did it - however, I will be buying some thermal underwear before next Friday.

What was particularly exciting for me was that the costumes were made by the ladies at Jacobs Well in Bangalore, and Mr. HCB and I sponsor one of the girls there, so she may even have had a hand in making mine.

Until today, although we knew the play would be moving between the five venues, I personally didn’t realise just how far apart they were, so by the time we had got up to the top of the hill to the church for the Crucifixion scene, I was quite tired.  I think it’s probably the furthest I have walked since my knee operation last May, but with the support of some lovely cast members, I managed it.

Over lunch, I chatted with two of the Pharisees, and despite their extreme views - only in the play, of course - they were very interesting people and it was an enjoyable hour.

The photographs are not particularly good, as they were taken with my iPhone and some from a fair distance away, but it gives a flavour of the play.

Everyone has worked so hard, and we only get one go at this - so we hope all goes well on Good Friday.  If you live anywhere near and you fancy a morning out, then do come and support us.  You can find all the details on the website here.

Acting is a question of
     absorbing other people’s personalities 
          and adding some of your own
               experience.
Jean-Paul Sartre 
French Philosopher : 1905-1980

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.