Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Mort or less

On the 1st anniversary of the first Blip I ever published taken with this little camera, it has thrown in the towel. A few poor shots taken to replace yesterday's poor shots and then error 62:10. At this point it does not grumble, it does not whine, it does not hum. It screams. Every possible icon appears on the screen for confirmation but the controls will not allow me to set any variables. Highlighted options jump about just out of reach like a capricious Satyr leaping across stones in a stream.

The significance is not lost on me. Tired Little Sony has given me exactly a year to prove myself and has found me lacking. It used to enjoy life, travelling to exciting parts of the world in the hands of a Blipper with an eye, an ability, a talent, and so much more. It has given me everything that it had to give and I am grateful. Here it is, lying on its deathbed, staring up at the ceiling above the scanner. Curiously, E/62:10 is not apparent on its screen.

The New Little Sony will be here soon (insha-Allah) and will take up its place just as the new Dalai Lama replaces the one before. I would like to fill the void, if I may, in celebration of the life of my little elderly and dearly departed friend, by posting some of its final images, even though not on the days they were taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.