Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Retrospective

Last Sunday, 13th March, Carnival, at 6:30pm the now defunct little camera took this shot of the clock in the bell tower of the church in the central square in the village.
Last Monday, 14th March, Clean Monday, I stayed home and washed everything in the kitchen according to tradition. Not that I am a traditionalist mind, it was simply that I hadn't done any washing up for a couple of days.
Last Tuesday, 15th March, I was back in the village to sort out the replacement camera amongst other errands and I met Nestor, the village janitor. So I asked him for how long the clock had been stuck at a moment to five.
"Many years, a very long time." He told me.
"Why does nobody fix it?" I asked
"The people in the village did not like it bonging all through the night so they stopped it"
And of course a moment to five is the perfect moment in Greece, either am or pm it's the moment just before you have to do anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.