Poison....

I met my friend Debbie for breakfast this morning & we had a nice long catch-up, which was great fun! On the way home it started to snow, but  before I'd even reached my house the snow had changed to rain and the wind had kicked up--nasty!
Being that the weather's so miserable I opted to blip a few of my old bottles. I especially like old poison bottles like the front 3 in this picture! The bottles that held poison usually had some type of embossed pattern on the glass--the small green bottle has raised vertical lines, the middle blue bottle a raised sort of diamond pattern, and the short brown bottle has little bumps along the edge of each of it's 3 sides-- a good thing in case you weren't paying attention to what you were grabbing; when you picked it up you'd know by the feel of the glass that the contents of the bottle weren't for human consumption.  The larger brown bottle in the back contained "Dr. J. Hostetter's Stomach Bitters", which I believe originated in England and was brought to America by some of the Immigrants. It eventually caused much concern here when it was found to contain a whopping 32% alcohol, and often some opium or cocaine as well. No wonder it was a big seller!!  The pretty, sort of turquoise colored one in the back contained  "Hall's Hair Renewer"--I have no idea what the actual ingredients of the Hair Renewer were, but I'm going to hazard a wild guess  that it didn't work!  Haha!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.