Cycle Challenge

The Chilterns Cycle Challenge was happening this morning -  a cancer research fund-raising exercise for those mad enough to go these distances; there was a choice of 75, 30 or 10 miles to be done.  I didn't do any of them but I was mad enough to get up early and park at a point where I could do some photographs.  Instead of panning I decided I would keep the background in focus and blur the cyclists' movement.

I think there cannot have been masses of volunteers for this event as I had to wait quite a while to get the photographs I wanted - and why do so many riders decide to wear the bright yellow high-viz jackets - so bright for photographs (but I suppose that is not their priority).

I'm rather jaded after the performance last night of a very modern and challenging work.  It was rather a strange feeling to have the composer in the audience and, despite one or two shaky moments (of which the audience was unaware!) it was remarkably good.  Our audience loved it and the composer was delighted with our rendition.  It was dramatic and definitely worth all the hard work of getting to know it.

Another concert later today but more straight forward music - Buxtehude - and he definitely won't be in the audience as he died in 1707!  One piece we are performing is the Membra Jesu Nostri - a medieval version of 'Heads, Shoulders, Knees & Toes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.