Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Flying Scotsman

Today we were booked onto the 12.30pm 'Flying Scotsman' trip from Grosmont to Pickering. I decided to go down to the station early to see it before it joined the 9.30am train (and where I took this shot), and then drove off to a spot south of Goathland where I knew I would get a good view as it went by. As it approached it seemed to be working much harder than it should, and as it got almost up to where I was standing it stopped. Apparently the brakes were locked on and nothing they tried was solving the problem. Engineers were despatched from Pickering by road, and another engine, 45428 'Eric Treacy' was sent from Grosmont to help. After an hour they finally managed to resolve the problem and the train set off with Eric Treacy bringing up the rear.

Of course, this meant the trains for the rest of the day were delayed and our 12.30pm only left Grosmont at about 1.40pm after Flying Scotsman had been taken back to the shed for a few running repairs. A good trip though, and it didn't matter to us that it was late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.