Concentration

We all woke up to rain this morning but Tim made breakfast for everybody which was a nice treat in our household where breakfast is usually a cup of coffee and maybe a piece of toast. Especially since this is Sunday, the day of the "big" papers. It was a perfect morning for settling in with the New York Times.

The hardier souls went off in the rain to the doggy swimming hole with Dana and Jim, while Maya and I stayed home. I bought her some fabric and sewing accessories for her birthday and her mission was to make a skirt on the sewing machine she got for Christmas.

We solved a few problems…I had forgotten how tall Maya has gotten and we didn't have enough fabric to make her a skirt. A trip to the fabric store seemed like a great idea (with a hot chocolate for Maya and an Aztek Mocha for me ) but OilMan and Ozzie had my car and I couldn't find the keys to his. Plan B involved putting in panels of a different fabric from my quilt stash…extra practice in the form of more seams, some math and some color choices were involved. Maya has a very good color sense which resulted in an excellent, slightly edgy choice. We were both pleased with the combination of flowers and elephants.

Back from the swimming hole, Owen was happy sticking the pins from a box into the pin cushion, then moved on to spinning around in OilMan's desk chair until I put a stop to it when his his trajectory was painfully interrupted by my shin.  Fortunately we found a puzzle which prevented him from going ballistic, while Maya and I finished up her skirt and OilMan and Tim watched basketball. 

Owe would throw a ball for hours, but not in the rain, and probably not ever with me! I have been reminded by every single family member, including Ozzie, that I throw like a girl….

I forgot to take a picture of the skirt before they left, but perhaps they will send me one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.