The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Abel Tasman trek

I got the 10.30am water taxi to Bark Bay. There aren't any roads in Abel Tasman so you either have to walk, kayak or get the water taxi. I opted to walk back along the 25km trail... in flip flops! Actually the walk was pretty easy, even with all the hills.

On the boat I met Julia and Björn, a German couple who were also walking back from Bark Bay. I walked ahead but took a path off to a lookout, meaning they'd overtaken me. I then caught up with them and we spent the rest of the day walking together and chatting while taking in the amazing scenery (see the three extra photos too). It turned out they were going to the same food festival I'd planned to get to a few days later.

The 25km ended up taking about six hours and we really needed a beer at the end. We booked back in to the same campsite I was at the night before and shared one pitch with our two vehicles. Another German girl who we met at the end of the trek also parked on our pitch. We all cooked dinner and continued with the beers, wine and cheese. They were a lovely group!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.