Great Grey Shrike

Perching high in the conifers I spotted him at a distance and just had to smile. Hours of patiently waiting and scouting rewarded.

Having returned to the Forest of Dean time and time again this winter and last winter I had failed to catch sight of our regular but scarce winter visitor. Being very territorial they are only ever seen singly perching high up waiting to pounce on their prey of beetles, insects, small mammals and birds which they store by impaling it on a thorn - rather like a larder! They prefer heath, scrub, farmland and in this case a felled clearing in the forest which covers quite a substantial area.

To get this shot was a feat in itself as the bird flew down to perch not too far away but this coincided with a couple walking a ghastly dog, not on a lead, coming in my direction. Hastily putting Tilly on her lead and cramming her between my boots I tried to ignore the rumpus which ensued. They could  see what I was doing , they could see quite clearly Tilly did not want this dog, the sort that could take your leg off, anywhere near her but his owners didn't move on but started shouting at their own dog not even trying to catch it thinking it was amusing.To say I was furious was an understatement. Giving A LOOK which said more than a thousand words I followed it with in a very dangerous voice, 'Would you please go away!' They did but by which time the great grey shrike had flown further afield and I was gutted to say the least. Weeks of stalking down the drain. However I do have this shot so not all is lost and very chuffed I am with it! Glad too I managed to get it before he flies home to Scandinavia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.