Horseshoe Bend

Positively shaking as I looked over the edge I couldn't even see all the water of the Colorado River on the bend. The only way... THE only way was to lie down and shuffle up the sandstone slab and point in my best haphazard fashion over the drop. Pinging away a few times here for this, I was just so relieved when I thought I had the shot. Thankfully I didn't know at this point someone had died here only 10 days ago when the ledge gave way and he had fallen 1000ft but people were nonchalently standing so very close over overhangs there taking snaps . I didn't care what I looked like I did what I felt safe with.

I had previously given my camera to some random stranger who did a great job but not good enough and Hubs really did his best too! 

Spent the rest of the day driving up in Utah and oh wow you couldn't beat the rock formations up there. 

There is always one journey on our times away from home that we become exraordinarily reckless - some might say brave but I would say adventurous and we ended up driving for miles not in a 4x4 unfortunatley, without a map onto a never ending dirt track? in a canyon of sorts. I am not a wimp but do remember squealing at one point, 'Stop we can't do that drop!! Stop right NOW!' but we did it. Sigh. I did visualise picking up the undercarriage as we hit the huge mud trenches, if we got out at all. Having said that it was the most amazing journey, with rock formations to die for. The Utah scenery was just stunning. Great day in all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.