Mitchell-Anderson House

This morning I spent my time making hardboiled eggs like "minions" for the Easter Egg hunt at church this Saturday.  The extra shows the result of some of my endeavors.

I had to head downtown late this afternoon as I was speaking to the evening class of graduating RN students about living with MS.  During the question period at the end I was very impressed with a few of the questions they had for me.

While downtown I had to take advantage of the great light and go by the Mitchell-Anderson House to take a few pictures.  Most people drive past totally unaware that it is the oldest surviving structure in Wilmington.

The house was built in 1738 and is the oldest surviving structure in Wilmington.  Georgian style house built for Edward Mitchell (d. 1744), native of Charleston SC, carpenter and planter.  Purchased in 1828 by Thomas F Davis (1778-1846), Clerk of New Hanover County Court.  Inherited in 1860 by Margaret Anderson Davis (1814-1889), sister of Dr Edwin A Anderson (1816-1894), physician and confederate army surgeon, who resided here as early as 1850.  Remained in the family until 1911.  Operated as a boarding house until 1963 when it was saved for preservation by Thomas H Wright Jr (1918-1993), President of Wright Chemical Corporation; and wife, Elizabeth Labouisse (1933-    ), founders of Historic Wilmington Foundation Inc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.