The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Peeling

21.8C according to our local weather station. Lots of sun with white clouds and a good breeze.
I would like to see this sort of weather stay for a while !

Walking down the bridle path towards the shore with Maeve the Deerhound I noticed two people right in the middle of one of the fields, pushing their way through the crop. As we got closer to the shore I could see that they were doing some random sampling of the crop. I have seen this done before in these fields in previous years and it always looks rather odd, just walking along and with no apparent pattern taking some ears of the cereal and pushing it over the shoulder into a sack or a bag slung on their back. I don't know whether it is tested to see if more fertiliser is needed or to see how ready the crop is.

What really caught my eye more than anything today was that both of the young women (Eastern European as always in this area) had on long sleeved jackets more suitable to a colder day. The mystery is whether they didn't think 20C was hot, or whether they were protecting themselves against scratches or bugs. I know I would have been melted !

The breeze was good out in the open fields and down on the beach, and helped keep Maeve from getting too warm. I sat down for a few minutes on the seat that looks out over the sea, but the grass is waist high at the moment and Maeve wasn't too happy standing about in it so we moved on. No one at the Fishermen's huts today so I had the chance to look around and see if anything was new. I got a few photos. However, the blip has come from the old upturned boat along near the Westhaven car park. I was looking at the rusted keel again, but when I leaned over further I saw this interesting peeling paint :-)
Baking in today's hot sun must be flaking and peeling it back from the hull even more.

Later, after we got home, there was mowing !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.