The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

... in the ordinary

18C and mostly sunny and warm with a good breeze. Quite a delightful day.

As we walked Maeve the Deerhound down the bridle path today we could see a few of the little boats from Westhaven were out and about on the sea. Further down towards the shore we had a good view of one as it made a pass right along the line of the rocks where they end and the sandy sea floor begins, dropping off his creels from the back of the boat as it motored along. It struck me as a wonderful thing to see.

On the beach at Westhaven we could see the blue tractor meet two of the men rowing in from a newly moored boat and they brought the catch of crab (and other things?) up the beach. Apothecary7 and I were just too late to see the catch as the men had loaded it into the back of a pickup and were almost ready to drive off when we got to the Fishermen's huts. Cheery greetings were exchanged as we walked by.

I noticed that one or two people had commented that they had liked seeing the pebbles in the past few blips of Sea Glass, so I decided that I would focus more on the pebbles today and I found a few that interested me. Still room for one piece of Sea Glass though, albeit a simple one :-)

A philosophy that leads me to sometimes enjoy looking so closely at things that are all around me ...

One talks about everything in life in a way which shows that there is really nothing ordinary or mean on earth but all is extraordinary, and that the discovery of the extraordinary in the ordinary is more exiting than talking of the extraordinary ...

Laurens Van Der Post: A Walk with a White Bushman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.