Last day

This morning, after a really good sleep, we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast back on the rooftop terrace where we began our trip three weeks ago. In one way, that feels like yesterday but actually, time thankfully hasn't flown, perhaps because we've had so many mini adventures inside the grand one. 

Not flying until midnight tonight meant we had a whole day to enjoy in Saigon. So, we started out at the War Remnants Museum. With my bug, I had to sit down in between every flight of steps which was a bit irksome but I wasn't going to miss anything now!

I'm glad we didn't start our journey here. It's essentially full of photographs from the American war, many horrific. So much so, in fact, that by the third room, as it moved on to portraying some of the real atrocities, I was in tears. The impact of the war stories I'd already heard and read about were enough for me to lose faith in mankind. My brain couldn't deal with any more. I avoided the rest including the room focused solely on the impact of chemical warfare. But there'd already been plenty in the others. I sat down again and waited for Rich.

We stopped for lunch at a quirky urban cafe over the road and enjoyed a rice dish and smoothies. I realised, with an appetite, I was feeling better.

In the afternoon, we headed to the Reunification Palace which was impressive but hot. We were both more fascinated by the communication equipment in the bunkers than the ostentatiously decorated rooms above.  There was a wedding celebration bring set up in the gardens and we sat in the shade to watch their health and safety antics up a huge tree and the colourful seating designs before catching a taxi back to the hotel. 

For the afternoon, we've savoured the last moments of time here by the pool, indulging in a massage and dinner. 

The taxi ride to the airport was as manic as usual, with Rich spotting a family of five on a moped... The holiday record! 

Now for the long leaps home. It's been some trip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.