Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A Mammoth from Indiana

You're looking up into the mouth or nose of a mammoth. No, not a woolly mammoth, but a plain 'ole mammoth whose fossilized remains were discovered in what is now the state of Indiana. Mammoths were larger than their relatives the woolly mammoth (which contrary to popular belief were about the same size as the modern day African elephant). This beauty, who graces the halls of the American Museum of Natural History (whose magazine, Natural History, gave me my first job out of college!) is about 10,000 years old. 

Besides mammoths, we saw a newly found Titanosaur which measures 122 feet long! This dinosaur (which belongs to the Titanosaur family) is so new, it has yet to be given a name by paleontologists and lived approximately 100-95 million years ago! I have difficulty wrapping my head around that amount of time, but I was able to lay my hand on the 8 foot long, 100 million-year-old femur bone. All in all, a very pleasant afternoon with my mom, slowly ambling about the great halls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.