The Daily Record

By havohej

The Bluetones Expecting to Fly

The Bluetones 'Expecting to Fly' (Superior Quality Recordings, 1996)

1996 was a year that seemed to be full of positivity as far as British music was concerned. Every new band that came out was 'the next big thing' and Britpop was pulling people together in the same way as acid house and Madchester had seven or eight years before. August 1995 until August 1996 was one of the best years of my life; I was 21, I had a new girlfriend, I saw the Stone Roses, I met some of my dearest friends, I graduated, I joined a band (which 'toured' France), Scotland played in Euro '96 and it all culminated with Oasis at Loch Lomond which was one of those 'moments' that happen very rarely.

Like many others I was totally wrapped up in The Bluetones being the new Stone Roses. 'Slight Return' certainly reminded me of the Roses with Mark Morriss' Ian Brown impression and a Byrds/Roses guitar sound. However, it lacked the confident swagger of the Roses and was bereft of the rubbery groove that Mani and Reni provided so brilliantly.

Nevertheless, I bought two copies of 'Expecting to Fly' on the day of release, one as a present for my girlfriend and one for me, both resplendent in limited edition plastic sleeves. That's the way we rolled back in yonder 90s; no such thing as downloading, just multiple copies of lovely black wax. I don't think she was as disappointed as me, but we agreed that The Bluetones were pretty mince.

'Expecting to Fly' doesn't have any of the greatness of 'The Stone Roses' or the rock majesty of 'Second Coming', it just comes across as posh boy magpies trying to throw all their influences at the wall and hoping something sticks. The lyrics are dismal, if you're going to claim you're next Stone Roses at least have some Monarchy and politician baiting or messiah complex biblical references going on and don't spout private school nonsense about the 'Blitzkrieg and the Doodlebug'.

The Talker came to visit me when The Bluetones were just breaking big and we went along to the Garage to see if we could get into the sold out gig. Two 14 year old girls who had been refused entry sold us their tickets and I think we caught about half of their set. It was so nice and unthreatening. I know I have bemoaned the other extreme of Britpop when talking about Black Grape, but this was pathetic; Talker and I could have battered the band and the entire crowd of 'Walter the Softies' and they would have probably thanked us for it! I'm obviously japing my friends, Talker and I are soft as marshmallows, but the gig was exactly the same as their record; an absolute non-event and too easily forgotten.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.