The Daily Record

By havohej

Bolt Thrower Warmaster

Bolt Thrower 'Warmaster' ( Earache, 1991)

At last! One of the classics from the Earache vault. From the moment the obligatory keyboard, spooky/alien intro began the hairs on my neck started to prickle; the anticipation of hearing the opening riff to 'Unleashed (Upon Mankind)' still does it to me 21 years after it release. The song has everything; doomy duel guitars, one of the most distinctive vocals in Death Metal (deep yet completely clear) and at least three gears which is something Bolt Thrower would later abandon in favour of their now trademark mid paced war groove.

Surely it can't get any better I thought naively to myself all those years ago, but I was glad to proven wrong as the downtuned, slowed down, but twice as heavy, Slayerisms of 'What Dwells Within' attacked my senses. And so it continued; riff after punish riff, deadly hook after deadly hook, classic after classic. It was like being carried away by strong swirling rip tide that tugged you out threw you back in then pulled you back again. I defy any metalhead not to raise their gnarled clutches to the heavens when chanting 'The Shreds of Sanity' or not to give themselves whiplash when headbanging to the world eating riff monster 'Centotaph'.

The eagle eyed amongst you will note that the band were kind enough to sign the gorgeous Games Workshop inspired gatefold for me at the Venue in 1991. The more eagle eyed of you will notice that there is a signature that seems to say 'Martin Arsels' which may confuse you as he is certainly nothing to do with Bolt Thrower. When I stumbled into the Venue's dressing room I was particularly nervous and passed my record round the band. Unfortunately, I chose to pass my record to the nearest crusty looking chap and even when I was told that he was not in the band, by one of Jon's unpleasant lady friends, I still insisted he sign it, much to everybody's amusement. I still don't know why I did it, but it definitely served as a sort of Death Metal ice breaker.

Before Bolt Thrower took to the stage to do their encore that night, Jo Bench, their bass player had to go outside to get a breath of fresh air because she was feeling a little under the weather. Pringle and I had also gone outside and I gave her a peck on the cheek and told her to get well soon. I have no idea what possessed me that evening, but it was a fantastic gig with all the usual stage diving and moshing in between getting nobodies to sign my record and pecking Jo Bench!

One of the things that struck me about Bolt Thrower was their support of the scene, I remember when Wee John tried to interview them all they talked about were other bands and when they played with Inversus Karl proudly wore one of their shirts which he had quickly lopped the sleeves off. Bolt Thrower remain steadfastly DIY, printing their own shirts, only playing gigs that reflect their non corporate stance (recently raising over £12K for the Teenage Cancer Trust) and still supporting the underground. They're a true institution and seem like genuinely good people which is a real change in the ego driven world of rock music.

Thanks a lot to the Games Workshop dudes who were really very pleased to let me take my photo in their shop, nice one!

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.