Crabbing

It was the last day of our holiday today.
Well strictly speaking tomorrow is the last day of our holiday but the Little Misses don't know that - they're going to school while Mr K and I have a day out in Oxford!!
We had another early start. Sleeping in a caravan in a room with her sister seems to be making Miss L wake before 6am. Lovely!
So we set off early to Walberswick for a spot more crab fishing. They love it and there was lots of screeching every time we caught more.
Let me tell you crab fishing is a lot easier for the kids today than it was when I was young - the bait goes in a net and the crabs generally get stuck to the net so much so that it's sometimes tricky to get them off the net and into the bucket. Not for my daughters the agony of reeling in the line as slowly as humanly possible only to watch the crab drop off inches before the top. They don't know they're born.....
We kept bumping into Richard Bacon and his family and, much to my husband's embarassment, I'm not good at playing it cool when faced with minor celebrities!! I listen to him every day on Radio 5 and it was oddly exciting to hear his voice in real life. But I managed not to behave like a crazed stalker and not to get too cross when we couldn't get a table in the pub we were planning to have lunch in. Even though Richard Bacon was in there.
After we dragged the Little Misses away from the crab fishing we came back to the caravan, packed up, went to the pool for a last swim and the arcade for a last gambling frenzy on the 2p machines and then we set off for home.
Even though I hated wasn't too sold on the grotty dump of a caravan park I have absolutely loved Suffolk! Just the little bit we've seen has been so great for a proper family holiday. We'll be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.