Scale

Many years ago, when I was taking my OU Foundation course (T102 - 1994), our tutor arranged for us to visit a steelworks. At that time I had a lot of experience in industrial kitchens and offices and factories but I was in no way prepared for the scale of a steel mill. It was a complete experience; physically the space was tremendous but all the sense were assaulted. I was reminded of that visit when I saw this bit of kit. 

I think that this badger mixes concrete which is then poured into those big cement-mixer lorries. The diagonal up from the left is a belt running up to deliver gubbins into the machine. Off to the right and out of shot are piles of different types of gubbins - I assume for making different recipes of concrete. Before I took this shot and did a bit of research I didn't realise just how many varied and exciting flavours of ready-mixed concrete the market manages to support. My favourite of the dozen listed on the Hanson website is probably "easy pour" but I can also see an argument for "high performance".

So there ya go - a big bit of kit for a Thursday which is pretending to be a Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.