Now and Then

The local paper had another old photograph of Union Street today. I decided I would do another now and then comparison. The caption states the old image was taken in 1969. To me, looking at the cars and fashions it looks more like 1959. I wonder if they made a mistake. In 1969 we were living flower power, there is little evidence of the late '60s flower power or prosperity in this image.

I had printed off the photograph before I set off down Union Street so as to find the place from which it was taken. I found it had been taken on the steps of the Music Hall. Once again, as in the previous now and then comparison, there were far more people walking around in 1969 compared to today.

Apart from the empty pavement these is almost no change in the scenes then and now. The Gaumont cinema is no more, instead it is now a shop. Apart from the absence of the cinema there is almost no change. The shops will all be different, but the quality of the print from the newspaper does not let me identify the names of the shops.

I had put a photograph in to Jessop's for printing, as I had an hour to wait this gave me a chance for a quick pint in the Wild Boar while I waited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.