An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The A303, over the Avon, at Amesbury

Talk about trying to make something out of the utterly mundane! 

Through a 158 second exposure, I tried to turn the pre holiday Easter traffic that blights the dual carriageway 'highway to the sun' (what sun?) on its way to the far west, as it crossed the Avon at Amesbury tonight.

The weather has been crap all day and I was lead to believe it might clear before midnight (I, and the forecasters were wrong) so I needed some artificial lights to boost this riverscape. The dual carriageway, with what travels upon it hurtling by at over 60 mph, the drivers of which no doubt had little thought of photographers lurking on murky muddy riverbanks with only a big tripod for company.

Anyways, I'm fairly pleased with what I finally came up with, talk about making  a silk purse from a sow's ear!

I don't 'celebrate' Easter in any shape or form, so whilst I won't be shouting Happy Easter to everyone, it doesn't mean I don't want you to have a nice break from work if you're having one and if you celebrate the real meaning, then I totally respect that and hope it fulfils your spirituality. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.