Marking Time

By Libra

Callendar House, Falkirk

I was in Falkirk this afternoon to buy some dancing shoes (!) but more of that tomorrow.

While I was there I took the opportunity to revisit Callendar Park house, now run by Falkirk community trust.

I have a soft spot for this historic house for its proposed demolition was one of the first stories I covered when I moved to Scotland.


There was such a public outcry that it was eventually saved for the nation.

Today it is a popular and much loved public space
free and open daily.

The Forbes family were the last owners and the story goes during Queen Victoria's reign they desperately wanted her to visit their grand house while en route to Balmoral Castle but she was reluctant to break her journey.

Instead the family hit on the novel idea of having part of the Antonine Wall which borders the south side of the estate removed so that Queen Victoria could admire the house as she passed in her horse drawn carriage.

Unfortunately Queen Victoria did not look. Or else she forgot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.