Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Top Tor

I wish I'd worn my wellies! I planned a walk on Dartmoor, not because I was walking anywhere special, just because I wanted to test out a new navigation gizmo. The main purpose of the gizmo is to make sure I can find my car when I've been tramping around somewhere. With the old one I had to upload the base map to it every time I went out of my usual area and it didn't give much detail. The new one shows me a detailed OS map on the screen.

Anyway, I put my boots on and set off following the route I'd planned and it performed well taking me to the Top Tor, Pil Tor and the Shovelstone. As I got further on in the route and started going downhill towards the Ruggleston, the ground started to get a bit boggy. I knew if I kept going I would get to a good firm path that would take me out to the road (assuming I didn't sink in the mire in the meantime). 

Eventually the boggy area got wider and I came to the conclusion that it would be wise to abort. New gizmo took me back to the car quite satisfactorily so that was alright! I was a bit muddy though.

My blip is a little tree, bent by the wind with Top Tor on the skyline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.