I confess

to feeling more than a little bit gleeful to hand a key over to a colleague today. I resisted the urge to do a little dance!

It was such a little key. The key to the cupboard at the front of the classroom that I have called "mine" for 9 years.

I spent an hour clearing out the room, getting rid of all of the old folders, rubbish, bits and bobs that I have just been stashing in the cupboard rather than throwing it away.

Then I informed my colleague that the room is now his (well, apart from the rest of this week, obviously).

Why the glee?

It's petty and silly, but it means I am not responsible for the upkeep of the room, and I have made it my business to be responsible for it for 9 years. I have done the displays, kept it tidy, made sure the students looked after it and chased people down (adults and students alike) when things were amiss after it had been used when I wasn't in it. It was a matter of personal pride.

But not mine now as I am no longer scheduled to teach in there (which is not a problem by any stretch of the imagination). It means that my colleague finally has a room of his own, which he has not had for a long time. I will be transferring to another location for my ICT lessons as I now only have a few of them and I will spend the rest of my time in a Science lab. That will be the room that I look after now :-)

Yep, you read that right.

I am not sure if the Science team know what's coming....I hope they will be gentle with me.

It's been a productive day, and evening, and I am finishing it off with what can only be described as a bucketful of Syrah in the hope that tonight I will rest. Last night was a shocker, even by my standards...4 hours sleep at best - I am not designed to function with so few zzzzzzzzz's in the sleep bank!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.