But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Promise . . .

. . . . Of things to come.


I had planned on Blipping a daffodil for today’s FlowerFriday challenge, but not one just breaking bud. I wanted one in full bloom, indoors and lit from a window in the fashion of a picture I had seen earlier this month. However, the position and shape of this specimen was particularly appealing and, unusually for me, I felt the lighting was both nice enough and bright enough to not need augmenting with flash.
 
I also had in mind, this week’s composition assignment but, while I’ve picked up a few of the elements not used last week – negative space, if I understand the term correctly, and subject separation by depth of field – I’ve only used one of the six for this week, diagonals. What I do have is simplicity, something I have always liked; it’s a concept that my brain can handle.
 
Having made a start yesterday in preparing the bees for the first honey crop of the year – the sycamore – I spent a few hours today preparing the equipment I will need when it comes into flower in early to mid-May. Scraping off the encrustation of propolis – the bees variety of plaster – and scorching the woodwork to sterilise it are the first tasks. In my early days, we were not so fussy on the hygiene front, but now the diseases that the bees face are so much more virulent that a great deal of care has to be taken; perhaps, had we always done so, our current problems would not have been so taxing.
 
FlowerFriday is hosted again this week by BikerBear who’s own entry is a delightful single tulip petal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.